Office of Racing


​Friday 5 February 2016

Harness Racing NSW Appointments Announced

Deputy Premier and Minister for Racing Troy Grant today announced the appointment of four directors to the Harness Racing NSW board.

Mr Grant said Rodney Smith, Alex Smith AM and Graham Kelly have been reappointed following four years of service as well as a new appointment, Robyn Stubbs.

"Harness racing is an exciting racing sport with immense spectator appeal and potential for enthusiasts of all ages and we want to ensure we have strong and viable industry that is not only sustainable but also world class," Mr Grant said.

"These appointments will provide a dedicated and passionate team of people with a strong mix of senior administrative experience and skills to effectively oversee the sport's ongoing regulation, promotion, strategic development and welfare.''

Appointed and reappointed directors:

  • Robyn Stubbs of Balmain who has been appointed for four years
  • Rod Smith of Westleigh reappointed for four years
  • Alex Smith of Harrington Park is reappointed for three years
  • Graham Kelly of Burradoo has been reappointed for two years.​
Mr Grant paid special thanks to outgoing chair Rex Horne who after 14 years involved in Harness Racing administration including eight years on the HRNSW board - two as chair.

"Mr Horne is a giant in the Harness Racing world and he will be sorely missed by those in and around the industry," Mr Grant said. "I wish him all the best in his retirement."                 

MEDIA: Jarrad Schwark (Deputy Premier) 0429 234 308.